## **RESOLUTION NO. 2010-06**

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF WESTERN WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY CONGRATULATING THE WESTERN WOMEN'S ROWING TEAM

WHEREAS, The Western Women's Rowing Team won the program's and school's sixth straight NCAA Division II national championship; and

WHEREAS, it is the first time that a school has won six consecutive titles since the NCAA began a rowing championship in 1997; and

WHEREAS, the Vikings' varsity eight and varsity four shells both advanced to the grand finals after qualifying heats, as the Four won the grand final and the Eight finished second resulting in the NCAA DII National Rowing Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Vikings' varsity eight, second varsity eight, novice eight, varsity four and second varsity four placed first at the Northwest Collegiate Rowing Conference Championships; and won the Team title for the sixth straight year; and

WHEREAS, Western was ranked No. 1 nationally in the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association NCAA II Coaches Poll throughout the regular season; and

WHEREAS, Varsity six seat Heather Kelly was named CRCA All-American and Madeleine Eckmann, Casey Mapes, Megan Northey, Miranda Steward, and Carson MacPherson-Krutsky were named CRCA National Scholar Athletes; and

WHEREAS, the team members distinguished themselves as students in the classroom as well as on the course throughout a rigorous schedule of events; and the entire team demonstrated fine sportsmanship and inspired youth to work hard, play well and enjoy athletic competition;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Western Washington University officially recognizes the Western Women's Rowing Team for its unprecedented accomplishment and extends to the team the Board's gratitude and best wishes on behalf of the entire University Community.

PASSED AND APPROVED by the Board of Trustees of Western Washington University at its regular meeting on June 11, 2010.

ATTEST:	Philip E. Sharpe, Jr., Chair
Dennis Madsen, Secretary	