WESTERN WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY **BOARD OF TRUSTESS**

RESOLUTION NO. 2009-13 WELCOMING TRUSTEE RALPH MUNRO

WHEREAS, on October 1, 2009, Governor Christine Gregoire appointed Ralph Munro of Olympia, Washington, to serve a term on the Western Washington University Board of Trustees through September 30, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Ralph Munro brings to his appointment as a trustee a long and distinguished record of public service in Washington and the nation, including 21 years of service as Washington's Secretary of State, a job to which he was elected five times; and

WHEREAS, Ralph Munro brings to his appointment as a trustee his role as a sponsor of the Munro Institute for Civic Education which carries out programs that promote civic education training for the public and especially social studies and civics teachers; and

WHEREAS, Ralph Munro brings to his appointment the Ralph Munro Distinguished Professorship in Civic Education that was established and named in his honor by Western Washington University and the Higher Education Coordinating Board; and

WHEREAS, Ralph Munro earned his bachelor's degree in Education and Political Science from Western in 1966 and was recognized by Western as a Distinguished Alumnus in 1989; and

WHEREAS, Ralph Munro brings to his appointment as a trustees his experience of service on numerous local, national and international boards and commissions including the Board of Directors of several domestic corporations, such as Prepared Response, Sunstream Boat Lifts, The Squaxin Island Tribal Museum and History Link; and

WHEREAS, Ralph Munro has declared his commitment to serve as a member of the Western Washington University Board of Trustees;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Western Washington University officially extends hearty congratulations and a warm welcome to Ralph Munro as he begins his term on the Board.

Vashington University

PASSED AND APPROV at its regular meeting on Octo	TED by the Board of Trustees of Western Wober 9, 2009.
Philip E. Sharpe, Jr., Chair	
Dennis Madsen, Secretary	