WESTERN WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING May 20, 2011

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Dennis Madsen called the special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Western Washington University to order at 11:00 a.m. May 20, 2011, in Old Main 413, Bellingham, Washington.

Board of Trustees

Betti Fujikado, Secretary Dennis Madsen, Chair Ralph Munro, Vice Chair Phil Sharpe Peggy Zoro

Western Washington University

Bruce Shepard, President Wendy Bohlke, Assistant Attorney General Steven Garfinkle, President, UFWW Liz Sipes, Secretary to the Board of Trustees

II. EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 11:01 the Board convened in Executive Session to discuss personnel matters as authorized in RCW 42.30.110(g).

At 11:35 the Board convened in Open Session to make the following motions:

MOTION 5-1-2011 Ralph Munro moved upon the recommendation of the Board of

Trustees to appoint Sherry Mallory, Ted Pratt, and Lea Aune to serve on an Appeals Committee and appointed Willy Hart and Sara Wilson as alternates, pursuant to Provision 19.4 of the collective bargaining agreement with the United Faculty of WWU.

MOTION 5-2-2011 Phil Sharpe moved upon the recommendation of the Board of

Trustees to deny a request for hearing requested by Dr. Brad

Howard.

III. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 11:37 a.m.