Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


 Welcome to the Board of Trustees Website!

Western Washington University is governed by an eight-member Board of Trustees. Seven members are appointed by the governor of the State of Washington with the consent of the Senate for terms of six years, and one additional University student member, who is appointed annually by the governor for a one-year term. 
The Board appoints the President of the University and elects the principal officers of the Board for two-year terms. Current officers are: Karen Lee, Chair; Sue Sharpe, Vice Chair; Dick Thompson, Secretary. 

Regular meetings of the Board are held o​n the first or second Thursday and Friday of every other month.  Meetings begin at 3pm on Thursday and adjourn at 5pm.  On Friday, meetings begin at 8am and adjourn at 12pm.  All meetings are held in Old Main 340 on Western's campus, unless otherwise noted.  All Regular Open Meetings are audiocast and can be heard by clicking onto the Audiocast link.

2015 Board of Trustee Meeting Dates 
by Elissa Hicks
 8/26/2015 3:28 PM
2015 Commencement Ceremonies 
by Elissa Hicks
 8/26/2015 3:28 PM
2016 Board of Trustee Meeting Dates 
by Elissa Hicks
 10/7/2015 3:14 PM
2016 Commencement Ceremonies 
by Elissa Hicks
 10/7/2015 3:18 PM
(More Announcements...)

 Document Set Contents

The Document Set Contents web part will display the contents of the Document Set in your Welcome Page.

 Contact Information

Barbara Sandoval
Secretary to Board of Trustees
Elissa Hicks
Assistant Secretary to Board of Trustees
 Office of the President
 Provost/VP for Academic Affairs
 Business and Financial Affairs
 Enrollment and Student Services
 Budget Office
 University Relations
 Internal Audit Office
 Assistant Attorney General
 Archived Board of Trustee Minutes 1920 - 2012
Karen Lee bio_2015.pdfKaren Lee bio_201595 KB
Sue Sharpe bio_2015.pdfSue Sharpe bio_2015104 KB
Dick Thompson bio_2015.pdfDick Thompson bio_201533 KB
Betti Fujikado bio_2015.pdfBetti Fujikado bio_2015156 KB
Chase Franklin Bio_2015.pdfChase Franklin Bio_201533 KB
Earl Overstreet bio_2015.pdfEarl Overstreet bio_2015176 KB
Ralph Munro bio_2015.pdfRalph Munro bio_201558 KB
Seth Brickey_Bio.pdfSeth Brickey_Bio190 KB
Historical List of Members of the Board of Trustees 1895 - 2015.pdfHistorical List of Members of the Board of Trustees 1895 - 201520 KB
Rules of Operation_current_2-13-2015.pdfRules of Operation_current_2-13-2015672 KB